Delta Phi Alpha

National German Honor Society

"The National German Honor Society, Delta Phi Alpha, seeks to recognize excellence in the study of German and to provide an incentive for higher scholarship. The Society aims to promote the study of the German language, literature and civilization and endeavors to emphasize those aspects of German life and culture which are of universal value and which contribute to man's eternal search for peace and truth."

Delta Phi Alpha was founded in 1927 at Wofford College and boasts chapters at 236 colleges and universities in the U.S.  Initiaties are eligible for scholarships and can network with long-time members.

In 2008, Dr. Morgan Koerner resuscitated the Iota Pi Chapter (founded 1983) at the College of Charleston.  He is also the organization's advisor on campus.

Initiates since 2008:

Thomas Aggeles
Alannah Aldstadt
Caitlin Billard
Montana Feix
Alexandra Harrell
Luke Hollahan
Kelsey Jordan
Abbie Prince
Lanie Ruedy
Therese Spaseff
Andrew Spitzer
Hannah Wilson

Jean Breza - Honorary Member
Professor William Robin Zemp - Honorary Member
Kayla Barbour
Sarah Fishburne
Kelly Ferri
Colin McKee
Julia Olson
Jenna Patterson
Stephanie Schnabel
Andrew Sgueglia
Danielle Smith
Tatiana Zimmer

General Hugh Tant - Honorary Member
Lauren Bader
Jonathan Black
Lauren Denhof
Michael Dipaolo
Bethany Dyar
Stuart Gilreath
Leland Gross
Timothy Howard
Ariel Imler
Rachel Jones
Jacob McLane
Ashley Sears
Rebecca Smith
Alexis Payne
Dominika Pullmann

Jamila Anderson
Matthew Armstrong
Ashley Blankenship
Martin Dawson
William Holt
Steven Kramer
Julie Lench
Ryan Murphy
Joseph Redding
Irene Viana

Jazmin Garcia
Kristen Gehrman
Haley Horkey
Chelsea Montgomery
Stephanie Rhodes
Benjamin Simpson
Mark Wiersma

Patrick Bryan
Britta Bornkessel
Andrew Colbert
Alexandra Dowty
Emily Dyar
Joshua Falter
Megan Forry
Sarah Gantt
Jimena Lovon-Hidalgo
Ethan Mauldin
Andrew Meggs
Sarah Morris                                      

Todd Czaplicki
Petra Duchonova
Monika Francyzk
Scott Meyer
Travis O’Dell
Renee Poser
Capers Rumph
Erin Wooten

Dr. Nancy Nenno - Honorary Member
Joshua Dodson
Eric Floyd
Kelynn Giorno
Heather Holschuh
Stacy Isaacs
Elizabeht Kitts
Ruth Nunn
Nicole Rausch
Jessie Schmitz
Natasha Scott
Stephen Werdann
Kelsey Whitler
David Williams


Social Media